Tuesday, October 18, 2016

New Brunswick legislature and old fortifications

New Brunswick was one of the four original Canadian provinces to join Confederation in 1867. The Legislative Assembly was designed by J.C. Dumaresq in Second Empire style, and built in 1882, replacing Province Hall, which had burned down two years before.

Seen below left, the Carleton Martello Tower in Saint John was built after the War of 1812 to guard against American invasion. It was used again for defense during World War II. Below right is Fort Howe, which defended Canada during America's Revolutionary War.


No comments:

Post a Comment